Ramblings about death

I’m guessing that most people have their own ideas of the ways they would like to die and the ways they would rather avoid. Is it better to have some time so people can prepare for your death, or is it better to die instantly (e.g. a heart attack)?

I think it is better for  my family and friends to be able to prepare for my death, but on the other hand, I wouldn’t want to be hospitalized for an extended period of time and would not want to be in excruciating pain as I approach death.  Can I pick a terminal illness that wouldn’t leave me in excruciating pain during my final days? 😉

If I am going to die suddenly, I would like to die in a blaze of glory like a 62-year old Michigan man. Right after bowling the first perfect game of his life during a league match, his teammates were congratulating him. Unfortunately, while he was being congratulated,  he had a heart attack and died.

I think it would be great to achieve something I had never done before right before I die or find out that I am going to die. Of course, I hope this doesn’t happen for a long time…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses

  1. I clicked on your link and this man had been bowling with the same team, same bowling alley for 45 years. It sounds like it was a passion for him. He was bound to have died with a smile on and in his heart. And yea, if he was able to enjoy it for a few moments, I guess it would not be a bad way to go. Of course my condolences. It’s like if there is a heaven I surely want to go there, but not right now! There are so many other not so good ways to go.

  2. Oh, I agree that I don’t wanna go now. If I got to pick my method of dying, that might be it.

Leave a Reply

