Pet peeve – sales clerk answering the phone while helping you

I am really annoyed when I am paying for something and then the sales clerk answers the phone. This is a universal phenomeon. I am assuming that the reason that they do this is because they don’t want to lose a potential sale. This is faulty logic. The phone caller is a potential sale, while I am a definite sale. If I see the clerk helping someone who called after the clerk was ringing up my transaction,  I might just walk out the door and buy the product somewhere else. (Obviously this does not apply at a restaurant. Doing that would make me a dine-and-dasher…)

On the other hand, I wonder how many times the sales clerk has interrupted a transaction to answer the phone when I call them…

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

9 Responses

  1. I listened to this delightful mini rant and you had me all worked up and saying: “Ya, I agree. Ya, this that’s not right. Ya, that’s poor businessmanship.” And I was all puffed up like a big balloon and then I read you last line and all the hot air gushed out in that once sentence. LOL 🙂 That is VERY good writing; I like it. Made me chuckle!!

    How are you — still sticking bandaids on yourself? LOL 🙂
    Hugs, Robin

  2. I listened to this delightful mini rant and you had me all worked up and saying: “Ya, I agree. Ya, this that’s not right. Ya, that’s poor business-manship.” And I was all puffed up like a big balloon and then I read you last line and all the hot air gushed out in that once sentence. LOL 🙂 That is VERY good writing; I like it. Made me chuckle!!

    How are you — still sticking bandaids on yourself? LOL 🙂
    Hugs, Robin

  3. I’m doing great. Thanks for the compliments!

    Now that you mention it, I have been self-mutilating myself in the last several days and have several bandages on my legs. (Unfortunately, given what the stock market has done in the last few weeks, I can’t really recommend buying stock in bandage companies anymore…)

  4. Don’t mutilate yourself. Let me do it!

    Yeah, I hate it, too when clerks pull the rude crap on me. They wouldn’t like to be treated that way if it was them.

    At least, if you’re in a bookstore with a coffee shop built inside it, you can get their attention by throwing some hot java in their face. *wink*wink* Or is that too extreme? Perhaps.

  5. @Kelly: So in your blog post today, is that what all the people reading with drinks are doing – waiting for a salesperson to throw the drink at?

  6. Yes, how did you know?

  7. @Kelly: Lucky guess?

  8. wiggy it is a pain, but what I hate is when you go in a store and there is no clerk to be found!

  9. @kat, Good point. That happens to me at the gym sometimes – I want to get a key to the lockers, but no one is at the desk…

Leave a Reply

