My recollection of 9/11/01

I had just shown for work on the morning of 9/11/01 and saw lots of people crowded around a small television set. I asked what was going on, and was informed that  jets had crashed into both World Trade Center towers.  I watched the coverage for a while, then went to my cubicle in shock.  Needless to say, I did not get much work done that day, as I was following the events on the Internet.

I was really angry for quite a while, and I kept hoping that President Bush would find Al-Qaeda’s primary base and wipe it off the face of the earth. Of course, pinning them down is a task much easier said than done, so now I just want to see them weakened so that they cannot carry out major terrorist actions.

My main thought for the day (and on every anniversary) was “There but for the grace of God go I.” I was in NYC on 9/1/01 – 9/3/01 to attend the US Open tennis tournament. The hotel I stayed in was about 3 blocks from Ground Zero (and was damaged in the attack), so I am very thankful that I was not there on 9/11.

My prayers also go to the victims, families, and friends of this national tragedy.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

