My most interesting conversation on the Internet

I’ve been spending a lot of time plurking lately. It is similar to twitter, but is much easier to get into conversations with other users because the plurks and responses to plurks are threaded.

The website plurkmania.com has stats on each user.  There are over 52,000 plurkers, but over 34,000 described their relationship as “Not saying”. The next most frequent answer was “Single”  with around 4,900.

I somehow got into a sociological conversation on plurk last night about why so many people (including me) declined to state their relationship status. Is it, as I thought, because it’s really none of other peoples’ business? But then, why throw yourself into the world of social networking if you value your privacy?

I can understand why many divorced people would decline to state their status, but why do so many single people do so? Is it because there is a stigma attached to not being married or in a relationship (which was another possible answer.) I went out on a limb and guessed that this might be more of an issue for women, who may still have to answer to being an “old maid.”

Of course, I really don’t have the foggiest idea why people would decline to state their relationship status, but it was the most interesting conversation I’ve ever had on plurk.  So many questions, so few answers…

Edit 7/9: Fixed spelling of “plurkmania.com.”

7 Responses

  1. I hope they’re not saying because they are married. I hate to say it, but I bet that is one of the reasons.

  2. But I wonder why those people wouldn’t just say that they’re single.

  3. Then they would feel like they were actually lying outright as opposed to lying by omission – which to some is so much worse to some people 😦

  4. Hmm… I guess it’s a good thing that I’m not a psychologist…

  5. “Is it because there is a stigma attached to not being married or in a relationship ”

    ha – I didn’t know there was such a stigma. Is it frowned upon to be single? I consider it a badge of honor. It has it’s moments. Also, you would think that displaying your ‘single’ status would be the real-world equivalent to not having on a wedding band, thus letting the world know you’re up for grabs.

  6. It was just interesting stats i thought.
    At the end of the day divorced or single status we are still on our own… And yes they are a few people that are married and do not say it… but you can figure it out…
    I suppose it is not really important wether you are single or married or whatever… unless some people are targetting their “friends” by their relationship status… but very interesting to notice that many people chose not to say.

  7. Yes, it is very puzzling why so many people don’t say. I don’t think we will ever find out.

Leave a Reply

