They call this “research”, part 3

A dental professor has “discovered” that the more children a woman has, the more likely she is to have missing teeth.

It is very well known  that pregnancy causes calcium loss and calcium is the primary element in teeth. Given these facts, how hard can it be to conclude in five seconds what it took this “scientist” who-knows-how-long to “discover”?

I wonder if the funding source for this “research” was the same one as for the “research” that concluded that poor eating habits during pregnancy may be bad for the child’s health.  I think I’ll ask them to give me research funds to find out if looking directly into the sun is bad for your eyes.

Edit 7/4: Oops. It turns out that this “well known fact” is not true (thanks, mom! 😦  ) (see the FAQ from the ADA. The calcium comes from the bones.) There is a reason why this person is a researcher and I’m not…

3 Responses

  1. “Given these facts, how hard can it be to conclude in five seconds what it took this “scientist” who-knows-how-long to “discover”?”

    And people worship scientist like they are the end-all-be-all of knowledge. HA!

    “I think I’ll ask them to give me research funds to find out if looking directly into the sun is bad for your eyes.”

    LOL!! Can I be on your super-special scientific team?

  2. Actually teeth don’t lose calcium the way that bones do. So that’s not the reason that a pregnant woman would lose her teeth.

    In fact the article doesn’t even present such a conclusion. How can you?

  3. @Danny: It turns out that my “well known fact” is not a fact at all, but I should still be able to find “research” on actual well known facts (which I really need to check on.)

    I’d be glad to have you on my scientific team. Can you ask a friend to look into the sun today? 🙂

Leave a Reply

