Annoying union tactic

A co-worker and I were driving back to work after eating lunch when we saw a decent sized crowd congregated on the sidewalk and on the street. They were union members carrying signs demanding a pay increase. However, some of them were blocking traffic and there were some police officers.

Tip for union members: Blocking traffic is NOT the way to generate sympathy for your cause. I could have read your signs (I was not driving) if you were on the sidewalk. In my not so humble opinion, running one or two of them over would be close to justifiable manslaughter.

Addendum 7/1 6:18 pm PST:

In case anyone didn’t get it, I was not advocating running over anyone.

Also, annoying the general public was definitely the wrong thing to do. If you read any newspaper, the public is already claiming government employees are overpaid and underworked (though this is not true in general). If the union angers the public by blocking traffic, they are likely to be perceived as troublemakers, and troublemakers tend not to get what they want.

4 Responses

  1. Hey now! I am a union member. I wonder what and where, and how long they were picketing. With the way this country is losing jobs to foreign lands, I am sure they were trying to get the word out about their strike. They want the people to take notice. Unions are slowly becoming a losing group with the way contracted work for cheaper pay has been the way of these big companies fattening up their pockets at the expense of the American families.

  2. Thanks for commenting!

    If this sounded like I don’t like the union, that’s not the case. I have no problem with them picketing for higher wages (these are government employees, so they are not being outsourced), though given California’s $15 billion deficit, they are not likely to get what they want. Many of California’s government employees have not received a cost-of-living increase in years.

    I have seen the same union (I know it’s the same union because they wear the same purple shirts) march down sidewalks picketing, and they are very visible. That is why I don’t condone them blocking streets and wasting city resources (the police officers.)

  3. I totally sensed that this is NOT about you not liking the unions…not at all. It is almost more of a philosophical statement. That if we want something, annoying people isn’t ALWAYS the best way to go about it. Or the only way. We may end up driving away the very thing we need.

  4. Robin: Thank you. That is absolutely what I meant, but unfortunately it didn’t quite come out the way I wanted it 😦

    Lesson learned – when posting something, check to see if it might make people angry (unless that is your intention.)

Leave a Reply

