My new Internet obsession

I recently joined Plurk, which is best described as Twitter on a timeline. The more frequently you use it (by making posts (plurking), inviting friends, etc.), the more “karma” you get, which can earn you various upgrades on the site. However, your karma can also go down for various reasons, including posting too infrequently or by losing friends.

My work blocks social-networking sites so I can’t access Plurk at work from my computer, though I can mobile Plurk via my cell phone. When I got home after work today, I noticed that my karma had gone down from 29.47 to 29.31.  The first thing I said to myself was “DA*n!”

This is an obvious indication that this could become an addiction. If I spend more time plurking, I may be spending less time blogging, which could be a good thing for readers of this blog 😉

5 Responses

  1. here’s some karma points for getting my humor—muahhhhh

  2. Seriously with all this Internet stuff like Twitter and now kerplunking or whatever it’s called..how will society function? I’m obsessed with the same kind of stuff and wish I had more time for useless Internet things. I always wonder what people did in their spare minutes and seconds before we had the Internet. Thanks Al Gore! 😉

  3. @ kat: Thanks!

    @peglegstarfish: Yeah, it’s fun trying to explain to teenagers that the world existed before the cell phone//text messaging/IM.

  4. Hi there. I agree that this whole blogging thing is addictive! Oh well, there are worse addictions I suppose.

  5. Oh, most definitely. And at least blogging (and plurking and twittering) is free (if you consider that you would be paying for internet access anyway), unlike many addictions.

Leave a Reply

