Jury summons day #3

I showed up at 8:30 this morning. Around 9:00, we went into the chambers and resumed where we left off yesterday.

One of the defense attorneys asked me a few questions about one of my responses on the questionnaire (the question was if whether filing charges against a person meant that he was likely to be guilty. I said that since prosecutors normally file charges when they think they are going to win, it was likely that the person was guilty.) I had to explain that I answered the question in the wrong context – that I completely understood the presumption of innocence and that the prosecutor had to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. He seemed to be satisfied at that point.

After a few more jurors were dismissed, I moved into the juror’s box. However, I wasn’t there very long before one of the defense attorneys had me dismissed (I don’t remember if it was the same one with the questioning.) I have a feeling that he didn’t think that I could be fair, since he grilled me about that one question, even though I clearly explained to him that I understood the presumption of innocence.

I took off like a bat out of hell and went back to work.

When I first showed up for the summons, I definitely did not want to be on the jury, but now I wish I was selected (even though this would be very inconvenient at work due to a staff shortage.)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Responses

  1. […] on May 21, 2008 by wigwam2theorem I just got a mileage reimbursement check from my 3 days at jury summons. How can I spend my […]

  2. […] were lots of jurors dismissed for various reasons. I eventually made it onto the jury before being dismissed by the defense team. Originally I did not want to be on the jury, but by the time I was dismissed, […]

Leave a Reply

